A fire fighter’s calling (part 6 of 6)

Posted: November 6, 2010 in Testimonies

The Sixth of the Six questions answered…what I’ve been waiting for, only one week before we presented this to our church family, His sort of timing.

Why does God want me to give up so much to go help someone who isn’t really in need?

9/5/10 Rom 11:1-16 Titled: ‘Why I’m going to Colombia:’ In sharing with others about the reason for our expedition to Colombia, i find myself sometimes lacking excitement about not helping someone in need, but today God help me realize the reason for going. We are going to help those in need. They need a larger church so they can continue to take their city for Christ. What they are doing is like the gentiles so long ago. Paul was told to go to the gentiles because they are responsive. The Jews had become complacent… “they did not stumble so as to fall, did they? May it never be! But by their transgression salvation has come to the Gentiles, to make them jealous.” We as Americans were being blessed by God as a nation who honored Him. I know in my life, my success began to fill up the room I had for my Father and slowly replace my need for Him. Praise God He got a hold of me and reprioritized my life. I am going to Colombia to host up to 480 Americans in a place where they have the potential to re-catch God’s fire and plan for their lives. I had become like the Jews, misusing God’s blessing in my life and became self-absorbed; now I see I am to be a fire fighter and  go to this huge fire, not to put it out, but to fight with it as a tool, helping others see the beauty of it in a different environment. I pray they will take it back to where they live. May they start a fire where they live; and just maybe enough will burn that the United States will come back to its heritage being on fire for the Lord. “…if somehow I might move to jealousy my fellow countrymen and save some of them.”

The reason I’m writing all of this is to help people understand God is tremendously blessing our lives, but not as the average American has come to know what blessings are. God is or has blessed us by asking us to simplify our life, to get rid of the big house we built with blood, sweat and tears, half of our belongings, move out of the house He just gave us, quit our jobs, go learn a foreign language, and go to a country that is known for being dangerous. You see God is currently eliminating all attachment of ours to worldly things. Once we became detached to our possessions we began to see with Kingdom sight, we are seeing the real blessings. First, our possessions really aren’t our anyways. Second, we then saw them in a different light. Tools! Tools that God intended for us use to bless others in our community and across the world. Third, not just our things but our very lives are His to do with as He pleases. So by being obedient we are receiving the blessings of dependence on Him, freedom from earthly cares, and finding purpose by investing in Kingdom work, things that last for eternity. Please realize we still have a lot to figure out and it’s a journey, we are far from having it all right… but as I wrote earlier it is the walk God’s interested in not the goal.

What exactly have we been called to? (http://extremenazarene.org/Colombia.aspx )

We are partnering with Extreme Nazarene in a project called Extreme Colombia. We will be gone for at least 16 months, 3 ½ for language training in Arequipa, Peru and 12 months in Cali, Colombia. While in Cali Alyson will be the finance coordinator and I will be project coordinator. We will be hosting 12 teams of 20 -40 people from the US. They will consist of a construction portion and an impact portion.

The construction team will work daily with Colombian general contractor’s people on the building. Due to the complexity of a job this size and the many unknowns there will be plenty of opportunities to allow God to bend us. The construction team members will also have an opportunity to engage in impact activities during their time in Colombia.

 

The impact portion will see first-hand one of the dynamic reasons why the church in Cali is growing so rapidly. It is because of its cell-based strategy. Hundreds of cell groups meet weekly throughout the week. These cell groups serve as evangelism and discipleship vehicles constantly bringing new people into the church. We will be partnering with the leaders of these cell groups to plug our short-term volunteers into dynamic and engaging impact activities designed to seek out and bring more people into God’s love through the church. Impact activities include compassionate aid and medical clinics in poor communities, workshops and conferences for youth, men and women, festivals for children, and evangelism campaigns in all sorts of forms are included in the events.

Here’s one last passage from my journal that my Father shared with me.

9/10/10 Rom 12:3-8 Titled: ‘Equal importance:’ “Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. Just as each of us has one body with many members…. not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us…If it is serving, let him serve… if it is encouraging let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently…” I must realize I, the one going,  am no more important than the one praying for me; I am no more important than the one leading a team to come help; I am no more important than the one supporting us; I am no more important than the one encouraging us or the ones supporting us. Maybe I have stronger faith than the one who has been called and hasn’t gone yet, but I must realize I am still no more important to God than him either. Father, thank You for Your call, faithfulness, grace and mercy… otherwise I would be able to do nothing.

In other words if your reading this and are supporting us either by: encouraging us, praying for, or financially giving, we are no more important to this ‘calling’ than you. Thank you for partnering! May God bless you and if we know that you are supporting us, know that we are praying for you as well.

Leave a Reply

